Major Changes

I received some major eye opening news last week. It really wasn’t a surprise but to hear it out loud made it real. I went to my doctor for my yearly wellness visit. I knew that my weight was too high and the doctor would scold me for it which she did. I shouldn’t say scold, because she was actually very kind and suggested some changes in my eating/exercising habits. The real slap in the face was a few days later when my blood work came back and I got the awful call that no one ever wants. I have high glucose, high cholesterol, and high triglycerides….all of which can lead to diabetes. The nurse delivered the news and said that my diet needed to change and I needed to start exercising and to come back in 6 months for more lab work. I really shouldn’t have been shocked but I was. I’m 40 years old and I’ve been overweight most of my life. I continuously thought that I could just “fool” my body and I would be ok. But as that is not the case, the harsh reality of being overweight is now hitting me head on. I didn’t realize how long I had been in denial. It seems like everything creeps up on you after you turn 40!!!

Anyway, I have changed by diet. I’ve been eating a lot more healthy. I haven’t started exercising yet….that will begin next week. One step at a time, right?

It’s strange how you can logically know that something you are doing to yourself is wrong, but you keep doing it out of comfort and pleasure. But I’ve received my eye-opener so wish me luck. Stay positive!!

Leave a Reply

